Color uncertainty

March 11, 2008 at 1:22 am 3 comments

feather and fan

I purchased this yarn over the weekend and thought it would be very springy and Easter-y. Indeed, it is. However, I’m also thinking it may be a bit too …kid-y? …bright? …obnoxious? Maybe it’s just not suited for the feather and fan scarf I have started. Colors this loud might be best as socks?

feather and fan 2

What do you think?

Entry filed under: knitting. Tags: .

Show off: Tudora Much to my disdain

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cotton Deer  |  March 11, 2008 at 3:26 am

    I do like the colors, but I think you are correct–they aren’t really suited for a feather and fan scarf. The yarn would be stunning as something else, I’m sure!

    Reply
  • 2. startledsquid  |  March 12, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I think those are nice colours but, like Cotton Deer, I think you might be right in that they are a little bright for a scarf. Socks seem like they could look nice in it (especially since it’s variegated) or perhaps gloves?

    Reply
  • 3. Heather  |  March 22, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Unfortunately, I ahve to agree with the other two commenters–it might be better as socks.

    There’s also the option of plying it with a complementary colorway, resulting in a more mottled or muted effect. That’s something that I’ve been doing a lot of lately with my handspun. (wanna come learn how to spin, eh?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

March 2008
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
“There is a fountain of youth: It is your mind, your talents, the creativity you bring in your life and the lives of people you love” - Sophia Loren

